Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC | UTHSC News

9th Annual UTHSC Postdoctoral Research Day

Kamalik Mukherjee

Postdoctoral Research Day, hosted on December 8, 2016, is designed to showcase the outstanding research and activities by UTHSC’s postdoctoral fellows and their faculty mentors. The event is organized to include both oral and poster presentations that represent each academic discipline across UTHSC’s campus.

This year’s Postdoc Research Day featured presentations from over 30 postdoctoral fellows and faculty mentors. Vice Chancellor for Research Steven R. Goodman, PhD, served as the keynote speaker at the event. Following Dr. Good- man’s address, three participating Postdoctoral students from each of the following categories were announced as this year’s award winners: Oral Presentation, Poster Presentation, and Winter Travel Award ($1,000 each).

The winners from each category are listed below from first to third place, respectively. The 2016 Postdoctoral Research Day was sponsored by the PhDA, the Postdoctoral Office, and the College of Graduate Health Sciences. Moreover, assistance was received in the form of in-kind and volunteer efforts by faculty as judges for the event.

Oral Presentations:

Erin Stephenson- “Chronic high dietary sucrose consumption increases energy expenditure independent of physical activity or body weight in mice”

Michael P. Thompson- “Hospital Electronic Record Adaption and Pay-for-Performance Penalties”

Qusai Al Abdallah- “Components of the Aspergillus fumigatus Ras Post-translational modification pathway regulate conidial viability, hyphal growth, and virulence”

Poster Presentations:

Kamalik Mukherjee (pictured)- “Cytochrome P450 1B1 Gene Disruption Prevents Neointimal Growth in Wire-injured Carotid Artery of Male Mice”

Sheema Khan- “HER2/NEU Binds to MUC13 and Promotes Pancreatic Cancer Progres- sion”

Raquibul Hasan- “Intravascular Pressure Self-regulates the Myogenic Response by Controlling Surface PKD2 (TRPP1) Channel Abundance in Smooth Muscle Cells of Skeletal Muscle Arteries”

Winter Travel Awards:

Hilaire Barch, Ruhi Mahajan, and Korah Pushpamangalam